When I moved out last year I wasn’t really sure if it was something permanent or a temporary change.   All I knew was that I was tired of living at home and dealing with the nonsense.  I found an apartment and signed the lease, but I didn’t move in until a month later.  I told my parents during lunch after church on a Sunday and it was one of the hardest things I’ve ever said to them.  That their only child was moving out.  It doesn’t seem like a big deal, but growing up in a sheltered environment I wanted to explore the world and be free.

I wasn’t exactly sure, but I think deep down inside it felt right at the moment to move out.  My mom gave me a lot of the things I needed a couch, kitchen essentials (pots and pans), laundry detergent, iron, etc.  I never really bought anything big except for a new TV and the stand for it.

After about two months I felt a little homesick because I knew this wasn’t “home”.  This wasn’t the place where I grew up with a lake near by where I’d take my dogs to the dog park or where traffic was always such a drag.  It also made me realize how much I really love my parents and vice versa.

Flash forward to present time..I’m moving back home.  Why?  I honestly hate paying rent. Welcome to adulthood, right? I don’t mind bills so much, but rent!  Jeez take all of my paycheck why don’t you?!  Haha.  Also because my parents are getting older and hopefully I’ll get married soon so I plan on saving for that and paying all of my school loans.  There are so many things I want to do and living on my own I feel stuck.  Yes, I have an okay paying job, but I don’t get paid enough to live comfortably.

Now it’s my last week at my first apartment.  In a way it feels like I have to take a couple of steps back in order to move forward.  It really is hard packing all of my things and move back home.  I’m nervous/scared for what is to come of the home life again.

 

Author: mizdaryl

I enjoy blogging about DIY projects/crafts, recipes, traveling, music for my aural pleasure, and my daily randoms of life. Take a ride with me through the road of life.

Leave a Reply

