Paralegal School Update

If you’ve been following my blog you might know that I want to go to paralegal school and I’ve been in search for a paralegal school to attend.  I was looking for schools I am able to bus it after work because I don’t drive to work and it also had to be accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA).

I went to the info session for SCHOOL NUMBER 1a few days ago.  They offer:

  • Flexible schedule, flexible program
  • Located at a school campus (I’m able to use school resources and feel like a student again.)
  • Flexible cost because it can be paid in quarters
  • A couple thousand cheaper than SCHOOL 2
  • Smaller class size
  • There is a 2-week break between quarters

SCHOOL NUMBER 2 had the info session a few weeks ago, but I was waiting to attend both info sessions to weigh everything out.  They offer:

  • Structured program
  • Better program
  • 1 long course means one lump sum payment
  • Financial aid available that ended May 1st (So it’s out of pocket now, until approved by FAFSA)  I do not have a couple thousand to pay for school at once.
  • No breaks because it’s one long course
  • NOT located on a college campus, but still a highly recognized school

I talked to my boyfriend, friends and coworkers and they all had their opinions.  The one that stuck out to me most was that my bf said where I work now it does’t matter if I go with SCHOOL 1.  Down the line if I decide to work elsewhere my experience will matter more than where I earned my certificate.  It would be a different story if I was looking for work.  And what got me at SCHOOL ONE was that it was at a college campus not a building.  I graduated college 5 years ago and it feels nice again to be on a college campus.

Yeah, I could get a loan, but I’m almost done paying off my undergrad loan and I’m tried of the burden of school loans.  If the info session was earlier or if I had known about the FAFSA for SCHOOL 2, I would’ve filled out the application and apply.  But I think my heart was always set on SCHOOL 1.

Registration open next Monday and I am so excited for school next month!

Author: mizdaryl

I enjoy blogging about DIY projects/crafts, recipes, traveling, music for my aural pleasure, and my daily randoms of life. Take a ride with me through the road of life.

Leave a Reply

